This Week’s Musical Selection from Heidi Dybing

Jean Sibelius was a Finnish composer, born in 1865.  He was one of many political protesters of his time.  Finlandia is the last of his seven pieces written and performed to protest against the Russian Empire’s increasing influence on the Finnish people.  Because of censorship by the Russians, each time an orchestra performed the piece, the title was changed.  One name was Happy Feeling at the Awakening of Spring.  That fits now!
In 1900 Sibelius arranged the orchestral piece for solo piano.  We also know it today as the hymn “Be Still, My Soul”.  
I chose this piece for Mothers’s Day weekend to honor my Mother.  She was my piano teacher and was especially fond of this classical piece.  
Happy Mothers’ Day all! And happy spring!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s